Former Detroit Police Chief Joins US Senate Race

( – Michigan United States Democratic Senator Debbie Stabenow announced back in January that she would not be seeking a fifth term. Democrats currently control the Senate, with the three Independent Senators often caucusing with them. Vice President Kamala Harris serves as a tiebreaker vote as President of the Senate.

The 2024 election could shift control back to Republicans, especially with Stabenow’s empty seat looking to be a likely flip. All three Independent Senators are up for re-election in 2024, with a total of 23 seats that Democrats have to hold onto. The 10 Senate Republicans, who are up for reelection, have little to no chance of being ousted by a Democrat.

Former Chief of Police of Detroit, Michigan, has his eye on Stabenow’s seat. A staunch supporter of former President Trump – who calls himself a conservative populist – James Craig officially entered the Senate race on Oct. 3. In recent comments, Craig said that Trump’s presidency “was a proud time to be an American.” He will join former Michigan U.S. Republican Representative Mike Rogers on the ballot. Representative Elissa Slotkin, D-Mich., is the clear frontrunner for Democrats, but many other candidates are vying for the seat. Craig retired from his position as police chief back in 2021 when he planned to run for governor of the state against the Democratic incumbent Gretchen Whitmer.

Craig was kicked off the ballot after election officials discovered that signature-collection firms intentionally forged signatures for five different Republican candidates to reach the 15,000-signature threshold to be put on the ballot. Ultimately, three individuals were charged with forgery, but none of the candidates were accused of knowing about the scheme.

Former Republican United States Representative Peter Meijer is also considering a run and recently launched an exploratory committee back in August. Meijer lost his seat in the House during the 2022 primary election after severe backlash for being one of the 10 House Republicans who voted to impeach former President Trump after the January 6, 2021, riot at the Capitol.

Copyright 2023,