New Tax Exemption Allows You To Claim HIGHER Tax Deductions – See If You Qualify
(LibertySociety.com) – On August 1, the Department of Revenue in Georgia announced expectant mothers could add their unborn children to their tax returns as soon as a doctor detects its heartbeat. An addendum to the Living Infants and Fairness Equality (LIFE) Act says any pregnant taxpayer in the state filing after July 20 may claim and collect $3,000 per fetus. The only stipulation is the woman must provide proof if the appropriate authorities request it.
The Peach State’s new exemption works similar to any other dependent deduction, except it will only be valid on Georgia returns and not the federal IRS filing. The new guidance doesn’t indicate what happens if the mother experiences a miscarriage of her pre-born human.
And it begins.
“taxpayers filing returns from 20 July onward can claim a deduction of up to $3,000 for any fetus whose heartbeat could be detected. That ‘may occur as early as six weeks’ gestation,’ before most women even know they are pregnant” https://t.co/NyTFpUuJRS
— Jen Jordan (@senatorjen) August 2, 2022
Georgia State University Law Professor Anthony Michael Kreis expressed concern about the execution of the new rule, stating the government will be “handing out a lot of cash” for pregnancies that may end.
And given how high the percentage of pregnancies that result in natural miscarriages, the treasury is going to be handing out a lot of cash for pregnancies that would never come to term. (That might be good public health policy though it may be a lot more money than anticipated.)
— Anthony Michael Kreis (@AnthonyMKreis) August 1, 2022
As of July 20, abortions in the southern state are mostly illegal once a doctor detects the fetus’ heartbeat, so the deduction seems to be the logical next step in legislation.
What do you think about this new law change regarding pregnant women?
Copyright 2022, LibertySociety.com